logo: 13 th St. Gallen International Breast Cancer Conference

13 th St. Gallen International Breast Cancer Conference

Primary Therapy of Early Breast Cancer, 13 - 16 Mar 2013, St. Gallen Switzerland

St.Gallen Breast Cancer Award 2013

St.Gallen Oncology Conferences proudly presents the recipient of the St.Gallen Breast Cancer Award 2013

Prof. Dr. Aron Goldhirsch (Switzerland/Italy)


Dr. Aron Goldhirsch is Director of the Department of Medicine at the European Institute of Oncology, Milan, Italy, as well as Director of the Swiss Center for Breast Health at Sant’Anna Clinic, Lugano, Switzerland. From 1994 to 2004 he was Chairman of the Swiss Group for Clinical Cancer Research Portrait von Prof. Aron Goldhirsch(SAKK). Since 1978 he is Co‐Chairman of the Scientific Committee of the International Breast Cancer Study Group (IBCSG: formerly Ludwig Group). Since 1992 he is Professor by title for Medical Oncology at the University of Bern, Switzerland.


A strong commitment to international cooperation and to the conduct of clinical trials led to his chairing the Update Committee of the Early Breast Cancer Trialists’ Collaborative Group (conducts large scale meta‐analyses of breast cancer treatments) and becoming Vice‐Chair of the Breast International Group (consortium of cooperative groups around the world for conducting trials for breast cancer therapies). Dr. Goldhirsch’s areas of research include new adjuvant treatments for breast cancer, definition of biological features that predict responsiveness or resistance to anti‐cancer treatments, and quality‐of‐life‐oriented approaches.


Professor Goldhirsch has received several international prizes: Robert Wenner Prize of the Swiss Cancer League, San Salvatore Prize, International «La Madonnina» Prize for Research of the City of Milan, Prize Farmitalia of the German Oncology Group, and the Swiss Lavezzari Prize. The University of Gothenburg, Sweden, awarded him an Honorary Doctor in 1993. In December 2008 he was co‐recipient together with Prof. Richard Gelber of the Susan G. Komen for the Cure Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction. In 2010 he was recipient of the Umberto Veronesi Award for the Future Fight Against Breast Cancer. In 2011 he received the ECCO Clinical Research Award, Team Award together with Prof. Richard Gelber.


Professor Goldhirsch is author of more than 650 peer‐reviewed articles and chapters in reference books and editor or co‐editor of 10 books, and serves on the editorial board of several oncology and breast cancer research journals.


Please find here his vita and his list of publications for further information.He was involved with the conception of the scientific program of most of the St.Gallen Breast Cancer Conferences and excellently co-chaired all of their closing Consensus Sessions since 1988.

Rorschacherstr. 150
CH-9006 St. Gallen/Switzerland
Tel. +41 (0)71 243 00 32
Fax. +41 (0)71 245 68 05